VILLAGE OF ROSEMARY

Regular Council Meeting
Date: May 16th, 2023 @ 6:00 pm

Place: VILLAGE OFFICE Rosemary, Alberta

MINUTES

Attendance: Y. Fujimoto, G. Fortier, C. Nielson S. Zacharias, P. Dame, C. Labbe

	Call to Order
	Meeting called to order at 6:10 pm by MAYOR FUJIMOTO.
	Meeting edited to order at 0.10 pm by With other ostiviorio.
1	Meeting Agenda a. Adoption of Agenda, Additions and /or Amendments
	C-49/23 MOVED BY COUNCILLOR FORTIER to approve the agenda, with no additions or amendments.
	MOTION CARRIED
	b. Approval of Minutes
	C-50/23 MOVED BY COUNCILLOR NIELSON to approve the minutes of April19th, 2023 Regular Council Meeting.
	MOTION CARRIED
2	Delegation
3	Business Arising
4	New Business
	a. Motions for second & third readings of Bylaw 496-22 Laneway Closure for the purpose of closing
	the laneway located within Plan 731267, between Lot 5 and Lot U1 of Block 14
	C-51/23 MOVED BY COUNCILOR FORTIER to approve second reading of Bylaw 496-22 Laneway Closure
	MOTION CARRIED
	C-52/23 MOVED BY COUNCILOR NIELSON to approve third reading of Bylaw 496-22 Laneway Closure MOTION CARRIED
	MOTION CARRIED
	b. Motions for second & third readings of Bylaw 497-22 Laneway Closure for the purpose of closing
	the laneway located west of the intersection of Dahlia St and Gwen Ave between portion of NE ¼
	Sec 1, RGE 21, TWP 16, W4M and Parcel A, Plan 4136FI and Lot 7, Block 8, Plan 7711FF.
	C-53/23 MOVED BY COUNCILOR NIELSON to approve second reading Bylaw 497-22 Laneway Closure
	MOTION CARRIED C-54/23 MOVED BY MAYOR FUJIMOTO to approve third reading Bylaw 497-22 Laneway Closure
	MOTION CARRIED
	WE TIEN CAUNTED

c. Motion to approve the 2023 Village of Rosemary Library Board Budget

C-55/23 MOVED BY COUNCILOR NIELSON to approve the 2023 Village of Rosemary Library Board

Budget

MOTION CARRIED

- **d.** Motion to appoint the 2022/23 Village of Rosemary Library Board members effective October 31, 2022 with end terms as listed:
 - a. CoriAnn Nielson term expiry date October 31, 2024
 - b. Annette Dyck term expiry date October 31, 2025
 - c. Michelle Norton term expiry October 31, 2025
 - d. Michelle Retzlaff term expiry October 31, 2023
 - e. Kathy Clark term expiry October 31, 2023
 - f. Donna Pitcher term expiry October 31, 2023
 - g. Paul Barsketis term expiry January 31, 2023

C-56/23 MOVED BY COUNCILOR FORTIER to appoint listed Village of Rosemary Library Board members.

MOTION CARRIED

5 Financial Reports

- **a.** Cheque Listing April 2023
- **b.** Financial Summary April 2023

C-57/23 MOVED BY MAYOR FUJIMOTO to approve financial reports as presented.

MOTION CARRIED

6 Reports

- a. Public Works Foreman Josh Dyck
 - Public Works Report
- b. CAO Sharon Zacharias
 - CAO Report
 - Planning Report
- c. Mayor Yoko Fujimoto
 - Newell Foundation
 - FCSS
 - Joint Services
 - Subdivision & Development Authority
 - IDP Committee
 - Regional Emergency Advisory Committee

d. Councilor CoriAnn Nielson

- Rosemary Ag Society
- Rosemary Library Board
- Shortgrass Library Board
- IDP Committee
- Brooks Region Tourism
- Rosemary Recreation Board

e. Deputy Mayor Gerry Fortier - NRSC - Regional Landfill - Newell 911 - Rosemary & District Fire Committee - Palliser Economic Partnership - SE Mayors & Reeves - Subdivision & Development Authority **MOTION CARRIED** C-58/23 MOVED BY COUNCILLOR NIELSON to approve reports as presented. 7 Confidential Items 8 Correspondence a. CPO Report –April 2023 b. RCMP-January-March 2023 (Q4) **c.** Other Letters 9 Next Council Meeting & Important Dates a. Next Council Meeting June 20th @ 6 pm. b. Meeting with S/SGT. Kevin Charles May 31 @9am c. June 7th Zoom meeting @ 6pm with Bruce Macleod, South Rep for AB Muni's d. Grasslands Joint Meeting @ County of Newell - June 8th at 5 pm e. Dementia Workshop June 8 from 9-4pm at the Heritage Inn f. Grasslands Joint Meeting at County of Newell June 8 starting at 5pm (RSVP done) g. Final EXPO Dinner in Cassils on June 2 @ 5pm Adjournment C-59/23 MOVED BY COUNCILLOR FORTIER to adjourn the meeting at 7:40 pm. **MOTION CARRIED** MINUTES of the Regular Council Meeting of May 16th, 2023 were APPROVED on June 20th, 2023

Signed:	
Yoko Fujimoto, Mayor	
Signed:	
Sharon Zacharias, Chief Administrative Officer	