The Village of Rosemary is named after Countess Rosemary Millicent, the daughter of the Fourth Duke of Sutherland, who acquired an extensive farm near Brooks in 1911. The CPR cutoff line (Bassano-Empress), sometimes referred to as the “Royal line”, was completed in 1914 and the proposed settlement on this line received the name of Rosemary. Most of the communities along this line are named for members of the royal family. Rosemary was incorporated as a Village on December 31, 1951.

Rosemary was part of the 1.2 million acre tract owned by the CPR which was developed as an irrigation network. The CPR advertised extensively and offered incentives to entice new settlers to the area in the early 1900’s. This tract of land was later transferred to the Eastern Irrigation District who still own & operate the irrigation network.

The first settlers to the area arrived in 1913 – 1915 from the Western United States. In 1917, French families from Quebec arrived. They built a church & school northwest of the Village. Another influx of settlers arrived in the early 1920’s from the United States. In the late 1920’s & early 1930’s many young Mennonite families arrived and settled on the vacated French farmsteads. In the 1940’s many young Mormon families arrived from Southern Alberta, encouraged by those who had settled here earlier. Several Japanese families settled in the area in the 1940’s as well. Today, several generations later, many of the original family names are still part of this vibrant agricultural community.

Although the landscape has changed throughout the years, the area still remains the “Land of Promise”.

Our Mission and Vision

The Village of Rosemary, through leadership and policy provides structure for a progressive, sustainable community.

Our Vision is “a flourishing, vibrant community supporting strong family values”.

Core Values and Beliefs

  • Collaboration
  • Honesty and Integrity
  • Accountability
  • Putting the Community First
  • Cooperation
  • Volunteerism
  • Different Ideas and Opinions
  • Tolerance
  • Respect

Strategic Priorities

  • Infrastructure
  • Commercial Development
  • Promotion of our Community
  • Good Governance and Succession Planning
  • Enhance and Maintain Partnerships and Collaboration
  • Quality of Life